Teachers

I began my career in education almost 12 years ago, when I was employed as a TA. Over the years, I have worked in all the year groups but in the past six years, I have worked in classes across Key Stage 2.

Whilst working at a previous school, I began studying for a Foundation Degree for Teaching Assistants and during that time, I achieved my Higher Level Teaching Assistant Status. Having greater opportunities to plan and teach small groups spurred me on to complete a BA Honours in Education and Training at the grand old age of 50!
 
Every day is a chance to help pupils achieve their best as well as an opportunity to learn something myself. I am very fortunate to do work that I enjoy.

I have lived in Cornwall for 25 years and have a son, who is almost 17, and a daughter, who is almost 19. I have two brothers and an uncle and aunt who live in Northern Ireland and I look forward to visiting them at the beginning of the summer holidays each year. When I have got the time, I love to "escape" with a good book and a large mug of coffee!
I love teaching at Blisland.  Everyone is so friendly and it is wonderful to be in such a beautiful setting.  As I only work part time I am also lucky enough to have time to do the other things I enjoy - walking my dog and spending time with my family.  We are lucky enough to live almost right on the beach.  Can you guess where my favourite place is?
 
I taught in the Midlands from 1990 to 2012 when I moved to Cornwall with my family.  I was delighted to gain the job here and I've never looked back!